Be Mindful

Discernment is something that we believers must learn. As Christ-followers, we must be mindful of what we are feeding ourselves, as everything we do should glorify God. I think that this is very crucial when it comes to the things we enjoy doing for leisure.

As I mentioned previously, I have been learning what type of books I am and am not comfortable reading. Because secular books are typically written by nonbelievers, there usually can be things against what I believe. And that goes with anything: movies, television shows, music, etc.

That is why we must ask ourselves, “Would looking at this thing, honor God?” and “Will this thing affect me in a way that pushes me away from God?”

When we accept Christ, every area of our life needs to be transformed because of Him working in us. But only this can happen if we allow Him to work. Have you seen a change in what things you will and will not do? 

We will still struggle and sometimes won’t discern correctly, but we are flawed humans; we cannot do anything perfectly. That is why we need the Lord for guidance. He knows what is best and how to lead.

Discernment involves trusting God as well. You may be asking, “How so?” We only see a part of the picture and might assume that specific thing is not bad. However, God sees the full picture and is aware of how it can affect us if we do it. 

Thus, that shows He is reliable and trustworthy because He knows everything. 

I am definitely not perfect in this field, but I am learning and grateful to learn. However, I would like to share a couple of ways to utilize discernment.


Pray – God is the One who knows what is best. Ask Him for guidance; His wisdom is perfect. We cannot do anything on our own; don’t be afraid to ask. He is so very willing, as He desires for our lives to be transformed.

Read reviews – I enjoy doing this with anything I am not familiar with. Like with books, I’ll go onto Amazon to see what people say about what content is in it. This is very helpful because it helps me determine if reading that book is a waste of my time! With movies, I like to go onto Pluggedin, which will also allow me to be aware of that movie’s content (it’s a plus that it’s a Christian organization!).

Philippians 4:8 – Are you uncertain if you should view a particular source of media? Run it through Philippians 4:8!

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.

Philippians 4:8

This tip ties hand-in-hand with the one above. You can find out these things by seeing what others have said about it. And look, if you happen to begin reading it and realize that it is dirty, stop viewing it and ask the Lord for forgiveness. We are human, so we are bound to slip up, but that does not mean He loves us any less. ❤


Some people might think you’re weird for not reading the Harry Potter books or watching Stranger Things (like myself), but it doesn’t matter what they think. It is about you striving to honor God with what you feed your mind. No matter what others say, remember that we are not to please man. And honestly, this allows for an opportunity to let your light shine as you are not to be like the world.

Do not be conformed to this world, my friend.

15 thoughts on “Be Mindful

  1. This post was really helpful! Disernment is something I kind of struggle with, especially when it comes to things like music. I do have to stop and ask myself if something is honoring to God and if it’s not, if I could live without it. Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am glad to hear that, Jehosheba! Yes, discernment can be difficult, as sometimes there are certain things we do not want to give up. However, God’s nudge for us to stop viewing something is where trust comes in. Following what He asks us to do is what will bring Him glory, even if we don’t fully understand. It is great that you desire to honor God with what you are viewing. 🙂 Thank you for commenting!

      Liked by 2 people

  2. Thank you for this post, Heaven! I needed the reminder, God has been convicting me more about this. I loved what you said about trusting God, because there are times when I feel God has told me to give up a book or show that I didn’t think was wrong. But when I obey He always shows me how even if I didn’t think it was bad, it wasn’t helpful. All to say, thank you friend and keep shining! 🧡

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so glad that this post was an encouragement and reminder to use, Josie! Praise, God! And yes, that is so true. I have had encounters like that, too. With being human and not knowing everything, we cannot always be sure if something is good for us or not; that’s why we must trust His nudge as His ways are perfect. Thank you for commenting, friend! ❤

      Like

    • Yes, the same has been for me, especially with my classmates in school. I think for non-believers, it is because they don’t understand the perspective we are coming from. But despite if people think we’re weird, that should not keep us from striving to glorify Christ. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. “We are human, so we are bound to slip up, but that does not mean He loves us any less.” Amen! Wonderful post, Heaven! ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

  4. “Discernment involves trusting God as well.” Yes, so true! In the same way that a small child has to trust their parents when told not to touch the hot stove. The child doesn’t understand how the hot stove will hurt them, but the parent does. In the same way, we have to trust God! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • That is such a good illustration! God is the parent with wisdom telling us what we should be mindful of. But, we must trust what He says, despite not knowing His reasoning. He knows what is best and His ways are always perfect. ❤

      Like

  5. Good post, Heaven. I too, like to be very careful with what I read/watch or am entertained by. I’ve never looked at the Philippians verse that way before. I always thought of it as controlling your own mind, but being mindful about what you put in front of you is apart of it, as we defintely think about what we are reading/watching. And you’re not alone in not reading Harry Potter or Stranger Things. I’m right there with ya! I’ve actually never met anyone who had the same mindset on the books as myself and my family, so it what nice to learn I’m not alone! Even though as you said, we should be paying closer attention to what God says and not man. Thanks for the post!

    Keep livin’ for Jesus,
    Grace

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am so glad that you enjoyed this post, Grace! And yes, very true; the things we are viewing is something that we will think about, which is why we must be mindful of what we’re reading + watching because we may begin to think things that are ungodly. Being mindful of what we feed our minds also helps with controlling our thoughts. Even our thoughts should glorify Christ, as He sees and knows everything. Thank you for the lovely comment!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.