Preparing Our Hearts for Christmas

When Christmas comes around, the world’s attention is typically focused on all of the commercial things: the lights, trees, gifts, etc. Although those things are not bad, for believers, our attention should not be on that. For us, we have a different reason for celebrating that day; Jesus’ birth. 

December 25th is a day we get to celebrate the birth of Jesus and it is literally right around the corner. His birth truly is a beautiful thing, and we wouldn’t have the faith or hope that we have if He wasn’t born. Praise God that this was apart of His plan!

Last year, I understood even more what celebrating Jesus looked like. Honestly, it is more than just reading the Christmas story on the 25th, but prepping our hearts to desire to worship Him on that day. 

Thus, I wanted to share how I am preparing my heart for Christmas day this year. I will be mentioning some of the things I am planning to try this year, but nonetheless, I am excited!


Studying the Christmas story early

This is something I did last year, and I learned so much by doing this! It allowed me to see the story as apart of God’s plan and the beauty of it. It also helped me to learn some additional knowledge. I went through a study plan by Minted Truth, which you can view here.

Going through an Advent devotional

One thing I desired to do this year was to celebrate Advent. My family or I have never done it before; however, I thought it could be very fruitful to do personally. I did not begin on December 1st, but I am currently utilizing devotionals on YouVersion’s Bible app. It has been quite refreshing!

Praise through Hymns

Hymns are beautifully rich songs full of things based on Scripture. I enjoy that very much! I listen to hymns all year round, yet during this season, I listen to the ones about Jesus’ birth the most (I plan to do a post about my favorites!). Praise and thank the Lord for sending Jesus because He genuinely did not have to do that. Yet out of love, He brought us the most indescribable gift.

Reading Christmas non-fiction

I have wanted to do this for a very long time, but I had not come across any books that I was interested in reading. But one day, I found some along with a free PDF of it! There are a few that I plan to read personally; however, my sister and I are going to start reading “The Women of Christmas Experience the Season Afresh with Elizabeth, Mary, and Anna” by Liz Curtis Higgs next week. I am quite thrilled to do this!


We should always acknowledge what the Lord has done. If you’re one who does not do it often, this Christmas season is a great time to start. Let’s celebrate the birth of our Savior together!

How are you preparing your heart for Christmas day?

11 thoughts on “Preparing Our Hearts for Christmas

  1. Hey Heaven!! I was wondering if you had a contact page? Or if not would you be willing to shoot me an email?? I have a question for ya! No rush, it’s not urgent, just curious!
    Keep livin’ for Jesus!
    Grace

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Such a beautiful post! It is important to keep our eyes focused on Jesus this Christmas! Especially since not everything is going according to plan this year. Jesus is all we need. The rest comes second.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you, Rae! Yes, that is so very true. For believers, the authentic reason for celebrating Christmas is focusing on the birth of our Lord and Savior, Jesus. He truly is all we need as He is eternal and will never leave our side; He brings everlasting joy, which the commercial side of Christmas cannot bring.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.